As with E3 2020, gamescom relocations online with a virtual program this year.

Alongside some everyday programs is a heading stream when again hosted by Geoff Keighley of The Game Awards popularity. Beyond that, the Future Games Show returns to round out the week.

Though Microsoft is due to announce something Xbox Series S related soon, there are no signs of a conference at the time of writing – so don’t expect much from them, or PlayStation, in the week ahead. The wait for next-gen pricing and dates continue!

It is, understandably, a much more subdued gamescom this year – which we’d take over a ever-ending list of E3 events, to be honest.

On this page:

Gamescom 2020 conference schedule at a glance

Here’s when every gamescom 2020 conference is scheduled to go live at a glance:

Gamescom 2020 schedule Conference Date (UK) UK time (BST) EU time (CEST) East Coast US time (EDT) West Coast US time (PDT)
gamescom opening night live Thursday, August 27 19:00 20:00 14:00 11:00
Future Games Show Friday, August 28 20:00 21:00 15:00 12:00
gamescom Awesome Indies showcase Saturday, August 29 18:00 19:00 13:00 10:00

Though gamescom will offer some everyday programs over the weekend, there’s no specifics on those at the time of composing. Until then, here’s everything we know of the gamescom weekend ahead:

gamescom 2020 opening night live – Thursday, August 27

  • UK: 7pm (BST)
  • Europe: 8pm (CEST)
  • East Coast US: 2pm (EDT)
  • West Coast US: 11am (PDT)

The headline show from this year’s virtual gamescom will feature 38 games from 18 different publishers, “primarily focused on updates from announced titles”, including the reveal of Doom Eternal’s campaign DLC, a closer look at Call of Duty: Black Ops – Cold War and Destiny 2: Beyond Light, and the second season of surprise summer smash Fall Guys.

Helmed by Geoff Keighley, the show comes in at a healthy two hours in length, as well as a pre-show with “additional world premieres” starting half an hour before the above times – all perfectly timed to watch alongside whatever you’re having to for tea that evening.

Future Games Show times – Friday, August 28

  • UK: 8pm (BST)
  • Europe: 9pm (CEST)
  • East Coast US: 3pm (EDT)
  • West Coast US: 12pm (PDT)

Hosted by Metal Gear Solid voice actors David Hayter (Solid Snake) and Debi Mae West (Meryl), the Future Games Show returns with another evening of “announcements, updates, reveals and more”.

Its inaugural event at this year’s E3 revealed the next game from Dreamfall Chapters developer Red Thread Games and sequels for Bomber Crew and Serial Cleaner, so expect announcements in a similar vein.

gamescom Awesome Indies showcase – Saturday, August 29

  • UK: 6pm (BST)
  • Europe: 7pm (CEST)
  • East Coast US: 1pm (EDT)
  • West Coast US: 10am (PDT)

This showcase, created in collaboration with IGN, teases viewers to “expect the unexpected”, with hands-on demos, developer spotlights and more. Though there’s been no specific mention of new reveals or announcements, it will debut the first look the recently announced Wonder Boy game Asha in Monster World, and a new trailer for Away: The Survival Series.

What about gamescom 2020 plans from other publishers?

For a third year running, do not anticipate a dedicated showcase from PlayStation, a publisher once a big proponent of gamescom in previous console generations.

Xbox is similarly absent, having recently changed its focus from Xbox 20/20 monthly occasions to sharing “news in a variety of ways”.

Though it’s possible either platform holder might drop a next-gen announcement this week, don’t hold your breath.

As for Nintendo, while it has started to do more around gamescom in recent years (last year it timed an Indie World stream ahead of Xbox and Google’s own shows) as with PlayStation and Xbox, set your expectations accordingly.

The only other publisher to confirm a stream this year is Ubisoft, with a 2nd Ubisoft Forward occasion for at some point in September.